(Daily Journal) I Need to Watch More Movies

Sept 23, 2011
By Bret Dorman

What’s the last movie you saw in theaters? Simple enough of a question. And yet some people seem embarrassed by their answer.

I was at work the other day and mentioned to someone I saw Drive, and she said she hadn’t even seen Iron Man 2 in theaters yet. I said “Iron Man 2?! You do realize they are probably closer to putting Iron Man 3 out than from when Iron Man 2 was released?”

Then I heard something I hear often, especially after listing how many movies I’ve seen in any given week: “I need to watch more movies.”

First off, you don’t need to watch more movies, but there are plenty of great ones out there.

Secondly, it’s funny how my (abnormal?) obsession with movies is still considered ‘acceptable’ or ‘cool’ by some degree. Movies are one of the only things I can think of that everyone knows and likes. Not everyone likes and watches as many movies as the most dedicated cinephile, but everyone has a favorite actor or genre that they will continue to support.

People for some reason feel the need to watch movies and stay up to date. That seems to be some sort of priority that people keep bringing up. I’m here to tell you it’s okay to not watch every single thing. I want to because I hate it when someone mentions a movie I haven’t seen, but I also have dedicated my life and future career to films. To me its a passion.

I say find whatever your passion is in life and do that. Surround yourself with your passion. Listen to podcasts about your passion. Make your own podcast about your passion. Create your own blog about your passion. I’m just lucky enough that my passion is also something EVERYone at least casually enjoys. If someone’s passion was gardening and they started talking to me about it, I would appreciate their enthusiasm, but have nothing real to contribute other than something like “Yeah I saw The Constant Gardener. It’s not really about gardening per se but Ralph Fiennes is da bomb yo!”

Watching movies does not have to be a passion for most. In fact, for most its just a recreational thing to past time and have some fun. I get that. So if you don’t want a career in the Film Industry, no, you don’t need to watch more movies. I try to watch at least a movie a day. And if you asked me, that’s not enough. I need to watch more movies.

Discussion: What is the last movie you saw in theaters?

Leave a Reply

